top of page

Elder Waldron Episode XVII: Return to Great Bend

Hello my dear family and friends! It was a great week returning back to the beloved Great Bend Ward.

Upon arrival on Wednesday, we were able to track down Adrianna and Hannah, thanks to information given me by their mother. Hannah seemed happy to see me again and I told her I was staying in Great Bend for 6 weeks (she thought I was just passing through town). The next day was Adrianna's birthday, so we took her a birthday cake! It was so good to see those two again and I have such high hopes for them!

Other great news is that Destynie (the returning LA we we started working with when I was here) is now a very active member. She attends every Sunday without her family and goes to her young women's classes and all the youth activities she can. She is preparing to serve a mission!

Destynie also referred us to the investigators on date that are progressing the most right now. Their names are Chad and Cheryl. They're an interesting but wonderful couple. They weren't very open to the elders at first, but after Cheryl received an answer she became very excited about the gospel and now wants to be involved in everything. They both came to a movie night we had at the church last night where we watched Ephraim's Rescue. Chad, though he said he wasn't going to pay attention, attentively watched the entire movie and afterwards gave the last of his cigarettes to my companion, Elder Gwilliam, and said, "I'm done." The movie truly must have touched his heart because afterwards he asked to borrow the movie 17 Miracles so they could watch it at home and for us to show him the baptismal font before they left the church.

We also were able to visit Larned this week on Friday. We had a very good lesson with Maddie, the friend of a member family. She has been coming to church for the past almost month with the Phillips Family. The elders have been pushing very much with her to be baptized. We had a really good lesson on Friday where we set a solid foundation with her and taught her a lot about who God and Jesus Christ are (all new information to her) and now she is progressing well.

Sunday was a fantastic day where I was able to see members that I hadn't already seen during the week. I had to talk in sacrament meeting and it went well.

Thanks for everything, love you all!

Élder Connor Waldrón


bottom of page