top of page

Hugoton Week 1

Hello everybody!

So my first week in Hugoton was really good! I still really miss Great Bend and the awesome people there, but I know the Lord wants me in Hugoton so that's where my heart, might, mind, and strength need to be focused!

This week there was baptism here in Hugoton. It was of a young lady named Lisa. I only got to teach her a few times before her baptism, but it seems like she has let the gospel change her life a lot already! It was crazy the days before the baptism. We weren't sure if it was going to happen or not with some crazy things that were going on. But we didn't lose faith, I always felt that everything would turn out alright, and did all we could and she was baptized on Saturday. I'm excited to hear from the people in Great Bend about Adrianna. I hope that she has continued to progress and is getting baptized this upcoming Saturday! I have seen the gospel change her family's life so much and it's such a blessing.

I met a lot of cool people this week who are open to the gospel. Now that I am in the western side of the mission again there are a lot more Hispanic people here and I forgot other things that are so different out here than back on the eastern side and central part. Last Monday we were at the gym and I saw this kid come and start doing his workout. I was sitting on the bench waiting to leave and the thought kept on coming into my head that I should talk to him. Well the opportunity presented itself. He came and sat on the bench next to me and started talking to me before I did to him! It was so cool he is a really neat kid and is super open. His name is Jose and we saw him a few times this week and have an appointment tonight with him at his house.

Also were able to teach a couple who recently moved here from Mexico. They seemed really interested and the wife was looking through the pamphlet before we even left. Also this week we taught this couple named Corny and Mary Jane. They are Hispanic and they came to dinner at a members house with us and it was great! Later that week, Corn-dog called us and said he read the chapter we left in the Book of Mormon and that he needs to be baptized. Later that week they invited us over for lunch and invited the member that had hosted earlier in the week. It was so funny they were calling the member mija (an affectionate term for my daughter) it was great!

Well hope that you all have a great week! Love, Élder Connor Waldrón


bottom of page