top of page

The Parable of the Soccer Player

Hello Everyone,

This week we had a big soccer game against the Kellogg Spanish Branch in Derby. It was a big deal. It was the tiebreaker match. Kellogg won the first match, then Wichita West won the second match. So Saturday's match was the big tiebreaker. I was a little intimidated. I thought we were going to lose and it would be, partially, my fault. But guess what?! We pulverized them! We won 7-2, it was actually kind of funny. We worked really unified as a team while the other team worked as individuals. And we had a super good defense (of which I was a part). Yes I actually ended up playing really well (I even hit the ball with my head, twice!), for me at least, and that's where this parable today comes from.

I think that sometimes we feel like everything depends on us, that our performance determines the outcome of a situation. Or that it plays a big role in the way things end up. We doubt ourselves and don't feel qualified, but when it comes down to it.... we can do more than we think we can especially with help from the Lord.

In other news, one of our investigators was pulled over this week and went to jail because he doesn't have a license, he's not legal, and he has past tickets not paid. He could have gotten in a big mess, but luckily he was fasting at the time and left the jail an hour later. Woot miracles.

We dropped Elder Yunda off at the mission office to go home today. It will be weird not to be in a trio now, but I think easier to teach unified and I'm not going to complain about having a real bed and not having to live out of my suitcase any longer.

Alright, I love ya'll so much!

Elder Waldron


bottom of page