top of page

Yes Siree

Dear Family and Friends,

I guess I might as well get the news over with first (since that effects the rest of my letter). Today we received the 'transfer doctrine' (what the KWM calls the excel spreadsheet that lists the areas and the missionaries assigned to those areas), and I found my name not under the area Junction City Spanish Elders. Yes siree, I'm being transferred after a three transfer run here. I am sad to be leaving and to leave the people I've gotten to know here and to leave the investigators who I've worked with who haven't got baptized yet... But I am excited for a new area as well.

I'm being transferred to the Wichita West Spanish Branch. I'm excited. It's another Spanish branch, which is something I really wanted, and it's also one of my 'bucket list' areas. One of those places you really want to be and experience. I am going to have two companions for about a week and a half, Elder Yunda and Elder Lopez. Elder Yunda goes home on a non transfer week.

I guess for this week I'd want to share some of the things that I've learned here I'm Junction City.

Maybe one quote that I've found since serving in Junction City could sum up just about everything I've learned here.

"You must not be afraid to exercise your agency and act upon the thoughts and impressions that the Spirit of the Lord puts into your heart. You may feel awkward at first, but I promise you that the sweetest and most gratifying experiences you will have as a teacher will be when you submit to the will of the Lord and follow the promptings you receive from the Holy Ghost. Your experiences will strengthen your faith and give you greater courage to act in the future." -David M. McConkie

I've had such wonderful experiences here where I feel like I should do something. Then the thought comes, no don't do it that would be awkward and it would push that person away from you. When I finally decide to stop struggling with the spirit and just do what it says, the results are amazing. To see the people open up, to realize that you can show them God's love and that telling them you care about them is really important.

People don't care about how much you know until they know how much you care.

This is so true. I think one of the worst regrets would have to be missing the opportunity to tell somebody you care about that you care about them. That regret is the regret that lasts.

Thanks for everything and I love you all,

Elder Connor Waldron


bottom of page