top of page

Faith is like a science experiment

Hi everybody. It's all going well here in Junction City, Kansas. I cannot believe another week has managed to pass by. It was pretty quick for me at least. We had a pretty good week so that's good!

Earlier this week we knocked on the door of a former investigator (well at least I think he was a former investigator). He answered the door super fast like in 2 seconds like he was waiting for somebody to knock. When he first answered like at first I thought he looked a little crazy, like pretty much yeah. He was sort of crazy looking, but he turned out to be really humble guy. It was really neat. He was asking us about growing up and how we came to be in the church and when he found out that my family had been in the church for over 100 years he was like, "Wow, I'm like honored." I was like, it's ok I'm just like you. Somehow Elder Osorio and I started talking about family history one night and talking about how jealous he was because I had all these names and pictures behind them. Then he showed me his little tree and the two pictures he had. We are so lucky.

We saw Marjenth again this week, the less active whose mom put her cheek next to mine and made the kissing sound. Marjenth is kind of crazy, but I think she is funny. She calls the missionaries mis hijos (my sons) all the time. And we were helping her moving some boxes and she kept calling me hijo and it took me a second to realize she was talking to me.

We also taught a Sis Chavez and her son this week. They are a less active family too. It was the do or die lesson for them, and I honestly thought it was going to be a die lesson, but it turned out really well and went really well.

Also the Manhattan Stake had their stk Conference this week. I know right, another stake conference, I'm so lucky. Elder Sitaiti of the 70 came to this one so I heard from two people who gave talks in General Conference this year (Bishop Cousse in Garden City Stk Conference and Elder Sitaiti for Manhattan Stake Conference). Something he said that I liked a lot was (and I'm paraphrasing here), things pertaining to faith are proved the same way that scientific things are proved. Think about Scientific Method. You have your hypothesis; that's like your statement of faith. You have your experiment with scientific method and you have to prove your hypothesis or faith statement by testing it, testing your faith. Just something interesting to think about.

Thanks for all you do, love you!

Be Good, Live Well, Love a lot

Elder Waldron


bottom of page