top of page

I've got a pocketful of poetry

I found this funny song this week, Pocketful of Poetry by Mindy Gledhill. I just thought it was funny because it talked about "I draw eccentric faces in the margin spaces of important papers" Which I thought was funny because it reminded me of my entire school career. But related to missionary work, it talked about "you can't tie me down for anything, and that's enough for me". Well guess what? I'm leaving Guymon. And it's coming with a lot of mixed emotions.

I'm being transferred to Junction City, Kansas. I don't know where that is, but I know there is ward there and my companion is going to be Elder Osorio. I've met him before and he is a pretty funny Elder.

I'm excited to go to a new area and meet new people and just everything be new, but I don't get to be in the West anymore. I have loved being in 'the West' these past couple transfers and I've loved being in the Liberal Zone. But I think most of the mixed emotions come from the really cool experiences that have happened this week.

1. We started teaching this less active's boyfriend. He is really open to the gospel but he wasn't going to be able to come to church because he worked every Sunday for his job. So we wrote him on the prayer roll for District Mtg and explained the situation and Elder Shurtleff jokingly asked if we were supposed to pray for him to lose his job. We just laughed at it, but he did end up losing his job this week. that's not great, but at least now he can come to church. We also were talking to him and the less active member a couple days ago and randomly at the end of the visit Elli (the less active member) asked if we had a video we could show them. So we were like sure we have this really great video the church has released for Easter. So we showed them #becausehelives. It touched Elli a lot, it affected her a lot and by the end of the video she was emotional. And then... she showed up at church this week, the first time in like a year or so. The spirit is really working in her life now. 2. A couple weeks ago a less active, Miguel, showed up at church randomly. I had never met him before but he had recently moved back into the area and woke up one morning and thought, "this is a good day to go to church" so he did. And he's been coming back and bringing his whole family of cousins who are really less active and his brothers who are nonmembers. They have usually just been coming to the youth activity on Wednesday nights, but this week Miguel and one of his brothers and one of his cousins (who I have never seen at church since I've been here) came to church. It was really cool!

3. H'waida did not move to Amarillo. Enough said there. And we gave her a blessing because God is shaking up her life; giving her the opportunity to change.

It's been a week full of Milagros (miracles) and I know there are going to be miracle in Junction City too. Alright ya'll have a good week.

BE GOOD. LIVE WELL. LOVE, A LOT Elder Waldron

Selfies with the Sister's sunglasses.

Elder Richardson and I did some bargain shopping at a thrift store this week. Not only did I snag these awesome pajamas (remind me of Howard's from What's Up Doc) but some nice shoes as well.

Planner covers for this previous transfer and the new transfer to come.


bottom of page