top of page

El Sol

First let's clear away some minor discrepancies. This subject line is referring to the sun not to the restaurant in Logan, UT. Ok now that that's out of the way... But really the sun has been present here in Guymon this week. Spring seems to be making a breakthrough. I have had to break out some short sleeve shirts I have never worn before. I even wore sunscreen this week... that's not saying the sunscreen worked completely... Anyway since the sun was a big focal point of the week I wanted to share this quote I found a missionary quote book in an apartment in Liberal.

"Keep your face toward the sunshine and the shadows will fall behind you."

-Helen Keller

I thought it was a really good quote so I scribbled it down in my planner to share later. I thought it was super cool to think about Helen Keller who couldn't see the sun but she would still be able to know what it was like to face the sun because she could feel it.

I think we can really put that into our own lives. Sometimes we are so downtrodden and so over burden that we don't think we can really see the sun so how can we face it? So the shadows over run us. What we need to do when we can't see the sun is just feel for it. Because when we feel the warmth we know that we are facing it.

This Sunday we really saw this. We were in the shadows a little bit. We really wanted to get some good numbers to finish off the week and we wanted to find somebody new to teach. Well idea after idea fell through and then my companion's bike tire went flat and well he was really enshrouded then. I was trying to think of something that would face us both towards the sun (not literally but you know what I mean). So I'm just like, "ok let's call Elder Shurtleff and have him take us to Anna and Jafet's. He doesn't speak Spanish but we can translate." Anna and Jafet are some investigators we hadn't seen for a while and they had canceled a church tour the week before so we weren't sure how interested they were. But I knew we had felt the spirit with Anna at least and we had found them kind of miraculously with Elder Shurtleff before. So we went and it was amazing and we faced the sun.

We showed the video that the church is going to release soon about Easter called Because He Lives (We just get it early because President Bell is awesome). The spirit was really strong as all three of us testified about the living Christ in our lives. The end of the video extends an invitation, "find him". So that is what we invited them to do was to find Jesus Christ. It was an amazing lesson and Jafet, who seemed fake nice and not really into it before was actually sincerely nice and showed interest, so we were happy.

Sometimes it's hard to face the sun, especially when we can't see it; it can be hard to feel. But we all can and should face the sun.

Thanks for all your love and support, I love you all and love being able to share a little of my experiences with you.

Live Well, Be Good, Love a Lot

Love

Elder Waldron


bottom of page