top of page

True Love

Hello to the people. I hope all this going ok this week. This week Elder Farnsworth went home and I received a new companion. His name is Elder Richardson and he is from a tiny farming community near Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. He has been out 7 months and I already feel tremendous growth already being with him.

I've been thinking a lot this week. I'm not sure what to say this week because I don't feel like it is appropriate to go off and some random topic. I love my grandfather. I'm so grateful for the opportunity I have had to be his grandson and bear his name. I was reading earlier this week in the Ensign. I had a little extra study time and I decided to read the whole thing cover to cover. I came across an article in the back under the Until We Meet Again section. It was a little thought given by Elder Wirthlin some years ago. But I think it is entirely appropriate and can sum up the words I'm trying to say and feelings I feel more perfectly than I can:

"In a message of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s Music and the Spoken Word,‍ a story was told about an elderly man and woman who had been married for many decades. Because the wife was slowly losing her sight, she could no longertake care of herself the way she had done for so many years. Without being asked, the husband began to paint her fingernails for her.

“He knew that she could see her fingernails when she held them close to her eyes, at just the right angle, and they made her smile. He liked to see her happy, so he kept painting her nails for more than five years before she passed away.”3

That is an example of the pure love of Christ. Sometimes the greatest love is not found in the dramatic scenes that poets and writers immortalize. Often, the greatest manifestations of love are the simple acts of kindness and caring weextend to those we meet along the path of life.

True love lasts forever. It is eternally patient and forgiving. It believes, hopes, and endures all things. That is the love our Heavenly Father bears for us."

I think everyone who "has met" my grandfather along the path of life has experience a piece of true love. I know I have and I am so grateful for this. I love you all.

Love, Elder Waldron

2.23.jpg


bottom of page