top of page

Zone Conference, Baptism, and other things

Dear Gente (people),

We had another great week here in the American heartland. One thing that happened was that we had Zone Conference on Friday. It was a multi-zone conference with the missionaries from the Liberal Zone and the Garden Zone together (it was still pretty small though because they are like the two smallest zones in the mission). One thing that President Bell talked about for the conference though impressed me a lot though. It is called the Amulek plan. Background story for Amulek: Alma was preaching to the real apostate Nephites and he was rejected once but this time he went back and found a less active, Amulek. He stayed with Amulek for a while and then when Alma and Amulek went out the people were astonished by the words of Amulek not the words of Alma. It's just like President Hinckley said, there is a better way. That better way is working through the members. I just think that was something really neat to think about. The Amulek plan was just all about working with three different groups each branch or ward has (prospective Elders, part-member families, and families with unbaptized children over 8) with a perfect member fellowship, or an Amulek.

I also was on a conference call this week with the other missionaries finishing their 12 week training. We were able to talk about progression and to continue progressing and that President Bell was glad about how much we have changed these past 12 weeks and have humbled ourselves and used the atonement more and more. I didn't understand the Atonement very well at home, I knew what it was but I didn't understand daily use of it like I have learned here. Elder Meyers (an AP and my first Zone Leader) told me he was glad of how I have changed too (mostly talking more...) and that lots of people are glad to be hearing what I have started to stay. So it was a really good call and really good for a boost forward out of the training program.

The most exciting news though is that Eliseo was baptized this week. He was finally able to be baptized after all this time of his work getting in the way. He has so much he can do and is going to be a great member. I wasn't going to be the one that performed the ordinance but then like a half an hour before the baptism Elder Farnsworth told me I was doing it, so I did it, in Spanish too. It was really good, and Elder Rojas was able to confirm him, even though he is in Liberal now. Since I am here another transfer I will be able to make sure that Eliseo stays active. Which leads me to another story. When I was updating the area book putting Eliseo's record in the baptized section. I found the record of a family that was baptized about a year ago that is now inactive. I thought I need to make sure we help that family because the missionaries that baptized them aren't here to make sure they stay active. So I think Elder Richardson and I will work with them next transfer, which leads me to another story: Transfers!

Yes Elder Farnsworth is completing his mission and is going home and my next companion is Elder Richardson. I don't know anything about him except that word of mouth from other Guymon missionaries is that he is cool, tall, and was trained by one of the best missionaries in the mission. So cheers to another adventure! About the sisters in Guymon, Sister Garcia is leaving (she has been in Guymon for 7 months) and Sister Eyre is staying and training a new missionary. Guymon loves new missionaries I guess. Anyway I hope you all have a good week. Love you and thanks for your prayers,

Elder Waldron

2.16.2.jpg
2.16.1.jpg
2.16.3.jpg


bottom of page