top of page

and a Happy New Year

It sounds like everyone had a Merry Christmas. I know mine was good. I snuck out of bed during the night and arranged the presents under the little Christmas tree. It was fun. Thank you for everyone that sent me something. Even a card telling me you are thinking of me means a lot more then you think. I'm grateful for the chance I had to serve this Christmas.

I was sadder about Jack then I first thought. I think the main thing for me was that I felt like I shouldn't be sad about a dog's death, but then I decided that this was more like a 'Where the Red Fern Grows' thing so I'm ok with it now. I'm grateful for the nine years that we had Jack, he was a good dog.

This week the sisters in Guymon had a baptism. It was scheduled for Christmas Eve. All the preparations were made and then we got a call from the sisters telling us that Susie (the woman getting baptized) had to postpone the baptism. I know it was a trial of their faith. They had another woman scheduled to be baptized the day after Christmas and top off the whole situation she also postponed her baptism. I think everyone's faith in Guymon was supposed to be tested a little bit. But now Susie has been baptized and the other woman is seeming strong to her baptismal date.

We've been in Liberal a lot lately, going on exchanges with the Zone leaders. Last night we were there and one of the member families held a party because transfers is coming up and some missionaries are leaving the mission this transfer. I listened to the recent converts bear a thank-timony to the Zone Leader (who is finishing his mission). They thanked him for finding them and being persistent (The wife told the husband not to open the door the first time they knocked). It reminded me of something Grandma Julie wrote me for Christmas. Paraphrasing, she basically said that any contact will make a difference either now or sometime down the road. How important to remember! That out of all the unsuccessful attempts, there isn't any unsuccessful attempts if you do your part.

I think remembering the long run is an important thing to do as we make goals and strive to keep them this year. I wish all of you a happy, successful New Year. Just always do your best.

Love,

Elder Connor Waldron

dec29_edited.jpg
dec29.2.jpg


bottom of page